Saturday, December 16, 2017

Fum

This book went from crazy to bizarre in no time flat. It was well written but it seemed that it was written for adults instead of it's younger intended audience. A seven foot giantess is having a hard time fitting into her school. Literally and physically. They even had to have a second bathroom built for her after she broke two normal sized toilets. One day she starts to have visions of calamities that will befall her small town. One by one they start to come true but they come with a cost, she is suspended from school, feared by most, and disdained by her mother. There are a few side stories that don't mesh well with the plot or seemingly have anything to do with it. There is her favorite author, an older ex-convict she befriends, and the random disappearance of her brother. This story has charm but it's all over the map for me. The end was also a little startling.

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Ghost World

I saw the movie adaptation years ago but I had never made it around to reading the comic. The color and inking are impressive, as are the emotions and dialogue that the male author, Daniel Clowes, gives to Enid and Rebecca, two recently graduated high school girls. This comic doesn't necessarily have an over arching plot but it does show how their friendship, blossoms, hides, and gets complicated during one long summer where they struggle to find out what they each mean to one another. It's funny, insightful, and honest. They pass time checking out new restaurants, speculating about the town weirdos, and planning a future. It's well worth a read.

The Wife Between Us

Definitely for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the train. It's suspenseful chick lit with a big twist (actually there are several) that keeps you guessing to the end. It's hard to summarize this book without giving anything away but there are two women and a man. One woman is an ex-wife and the other is about to be a Mrs. to the same gentleman. Only maybe he isn't a gentleman. Or maybe his ex-wife is just as crazy as her mother was. Or maybe there is more to the story then the narrators are letting on. The narrator's are unreliable and will leave you hanging, only by pushing through will you understand the dark implications of the previous marriage. I would have given this a higher rating except that I didn't love either of the women. I just wanted them to get this shit sorted out. Not bad though, I didn't see the end coming (but then again I never do!).

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

We Have Always Lived in the Castle

I have a lot of feelings about this book and I'm not sure what they mean. It was dark and creepy and I mean... WHAT THE HELL!!?!?!?! Constance and her younger sister Merricat live in the Blackwood manor with their elderly Uncle Julian. They live a secluded life since most of their family was murdered six years ago as they sat around the dining room table (sugar... the sweet unsuspecting sugar killed them all!). Merricat walks into town twice a week for provisions, but other than that they live a lonely existence filled with books, food, and each other's company. Thankfully Merricat has a rich imagination and a large yard, she is free and happy (she's eighteen but acts MUCH younger). When their cousin Charles comes for an unexpected visit, things suddenly starts to go sour. The story is told through Merricat's eyes and her decisions and thoughts and revelations continue to get darker and darker as the story continues. There is more, but really just read this damn thing and call me so I can have someone help me through this. NOT a light hearted read!

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Artemis

I was soo nervous to read this since I loved The Martian so much. I was unsure that any follow up books by Weir could compare to that masterpiece, but I needn't have worried! This book was the bomb! I wish I could give it 4.5 stars instead of 4. This book is super different from The Martian, but also very similar. The lead character Jazz, is a twenty six year old Saudi Arabian living on the moon. She is a smart ass, sarcastic, genius. I love her. She has lived on the moon since she was six in the city of Artemis. She's not very high ranking in the grand scheme of things, she's at the bottom of the totem pole work-wise. She's stubborn and unwilling to use her skills to obtain a better job since she is still insistent on sticking it to her old man and making it on her own. She's a porter and in her spare time she smuggles illegal Earth items in for wealthy citizens. Her skills as an underground smuggler and her savvy business ethics lead one of the richest men in the city to hire her for a secret mission, from there, everything goes wrong. This book was soo funny and smart and I genuinely loved all the characters. The amount of world building in this is monumental and believable. I LOVED this!

Monday, December 11, 2017

The Power

Poignant, powerful, and wonderfully different for a change. For once, women are the power hungry, the dominant, the top of the food chain. Eerily reminiscent of The Handmaid's Tale and other dystopian literature, The Power chronicles the female ascent to the top. Worldwide young girls are discovering that they have the power to release electrical charges, effectively shocking other people, sometimes to death. They also discover that when they shock older women they have the power to waken the dormant abilities. Soon women all over the world have this power and for once the men know fear. Told through multiple perspectives over a ten year span we see a female mayor aspiring to be governor, a young teenage girl with stronger raw power then anyone has ever seen, Mother Eve a prophet of the power, and a journalist, the lone male voice in this book. Together their panic, amazement, and greed tell the tale of how men became the weaker sex and the movement that changed the course of history forever, Wonderfully fresh and inventive. I loved it!

Friday, December 8, 2017

Boston Jane

In middle school I was so enamored with this book that I read the whole book from start to finish EVERY night for a week. It resonated with me, I loved the characters, the plot, the romance, the adventure. I am soo pleased that even reading this book as an adult holds up. It is soo good! At sixteen Jane leaves her father behind in Boston and sails to the wild frontier of California to meet and marry William, a former apprentice of her father. When she arrives to the bay her betrothed is nowhere to be found. And the settlement is only a trading post and a local Indian tribe. With no other options she puts all her etiquette skills to use, mending clothes for the men, trading with the Indians, and trying to figure out cooking. All the while there is a handsome and rugged sailor who has his eye on her if she'd only notice. Lots of action, hilarity, and character development. I can't recommend this enough!